The Nukiyama Memorial Award Prof. Mamoru Tanahashi as the third recipient of the Nukiyama Memorial Award

At the Annual Meeting of the Heat Transfer Society of Japan in Osaka on May 25, 2016, it was announced that the Nukiyama Memorial Award is bestowed to Dr. Mamoru Tanahashi, Professor of Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan, for his outstanding contributions in the field of direct numerical simulation and laser measurement on turbulent heat/mass transfer and combustion. The plaque and certificate with an honorarium of 500,000JPY will be conferred at the Award Ceremony after the awardee's lecture at the 4th International Forum on Heat Transfer held in Sendai, November 2-4, 2016. (Official announcement from HTSJ is here.)



Prof. Mamoru Tanahashi

The Nukiyama Memorial Award commemorates outstanding contributions by Shiro Nukiyama as an excellent heat transfer scientist. He addressed the challenges of the boiling phenomena and published a pioneering paper, which clarified these phenomena in the form of the Nukiyama curve (boiling curve). This epoch-making work was done in 1930s, when heat transfer research was in an early stage and Nukiyama himself was young, under forty years old. The Award shall be bestowed to a scientist under about fifty years of age, once every two years in the field of Thermal Science and Engineering.

The Call for the third Nomination was released in October 2015. Quality nominations were submitted from all over the world before the end of January 2016. All nominees were evaluated impartially and rigidly by the Award Board. The Board for the Nukiyama Award 2016 is composed by the following individuals.

Board of the Nukiyama Memorial Award

Chairperson: Hideo Yoshida (Professor, Kyoto University, Japan)

Vice-Chairperson: Ken Okazaki (Professor Emeritus, Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan)

Members Joon Sik Lee (Deputy Prime Minister, Minister of Education, Korea)

Shigenao Maruyama (Professor, Tohoku University, Japan)
Terrence W. Simon (Professor, University of Minnesota, USA)

Peter Stephan (Professor, Technische Universität Darmstadt, Germany)

Xing Zhang (Professor, Tsinghua University, China)