The Nukiyama Memorial Award 2018 Prof. Ruzhu Wang as the fourth recipient of the Nukiyama Memorial Award

At the Annual Meeting of the Heat Transfer Society of Japan in Sapporo on May 30, 2018, it was announced that the Nukiyama Memorial Award 2018 is bestowed to Dr. Ruzhu Wang, Professor of Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China, for his outstanding contributions in the field of heat and mass transfer for refrigeration/cryogenics and energy systems. The plaque and certificate with an honorarium of 500,000JPY will be conferred at the Award Ceremony after the awardee's lecture at the 16th International Heat Transfer Conference (IHTC-16) held in Beijing, China, August 10-15, 2018.



Prof. Ruzhu Wang

The Nukiyama Memorial Award commemorates outstanding contributions by Shiro Nukiyama as an excellent heat transfer scientist. He addressed the challenges of the boiling phenomena and published a pioneering paper, which clarified these phenomena in the form of the Nukiyama curve (boiling curve). This epoch-making work was done in 1930s, when heat transfer research was in an early stage and Nukiyama himself was young, under forty years old. The Award shall be bestowed to a scientist under about fifty years of age, once every two years in the field of Thermal Science and Engineering.

The Call for the fourth Nomination was released in June 2017. Quality nominations were submitted from all over the world before the end of September 2017. All nominees were evaluated impartially and rigidly by the Award Board. The Board for the Nukiyama Award 2018 is composed by the following individuals.

Board of the Nukiyama Memorial Award 2018

Chairperson: Ken Okazaki (Institute Professor, Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan)

Vice-Chairperson: Shigenao Maruyama (Professor Emeritus, Tohoku University, Japan)

Members Yasuyuki Takata (Professor, Kyushu University, Japan)

Peter Stephan (Technische Universität Darmstadt, Germany)

Xing Zhang (Tsinghua University, China)

John Richard Thome (Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, Switzerland)

John H. Lienhard V (Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA)