The Nukiyama Memorial Award

Prof. Junichiro Shiomi as the sixth recipient of the Nukiyama Memorial Award

Prof. Junichiro Shiomi

The 6th Nukiyama Memorial Award 2022 was bestowed to Dr. Junichiro Shiomi, Professor at the University of Tokyo for his outstanding contributions to the field of nanoscale heat transfer by developing unique methodologies and discovering new principles and controllability. He has been active in a wide range of sub-fields, such as thermal energy management from fundamentals of heat conduction, phase change, and thermoelectric conversion to the system level, interfacial fluid dynamics and electro-kinetics, multiscale and multiphysics computation of transport phenomena, controlled synthesis and device integration of nanomaterials, thermal property measurements at the nanoscale, and materials informatics.

The award ceremony was held at the Annual Meeting of the Heat Transfer Society of Japan on May 19, 2022. The plaque and certificate with an honorarium of 500,000 JPY was conferred. The awardee’s lecture will be held at the 17th International Heat Transfer Conference in Cape Town, South Africa in August 2023.

The Nukiyama Memorial Award commemorates outstanding contributions by Shiro Nukiyama as an excellent heat transfer scientist. He addressed the challenges of the boiling phenomena and published a pioneering paper which clarified these phenomena in the form of the Nukiyama curve (boiling curve). This epoch-making work was done in the 1930s, when heat transfer research was in an early stage, and Nukiyama himself was young, under forty years old. The Award shall be bestowed to a scientist under about fifty years of age, once every two years in the field of Thermal Science and Engineering.

The Call for the sixth nomination was released in June 2021. Ten quality nominations were submitted from eight countries before the end of September 2021. All nominees were evaluated impartially and rigidly by the Award Committee.

Chairperson Yasuyuki Takata (Kyushu University, Japan)
Vice Chairperson Kazuhiko Suga (Osaka Prefecture University, Japan)
Taku Ohara (Tohoku University, Japan)
Catherine Colin (Institut de Mécanique des Fluides de Toulouse, France)
Sung Jin Kim (Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology, S. Korea)
Janusz S. Szmyd (AGH University of Science and Technology, Poland)
Zhuomin Zhang (Georgia Institute of Technology, USA)